Aerotropolis Regional
Transportation Authority

About Us

The Aerotropolis Regional Transportation Authority (ARTA) encompasses roughly 3,000 acres south of Denver International Airport (DEN). The Board of Directors consists of three voting member jurisdictions: Adams County, The City of Aurora, and the Aerotropolis Area Coordinating Metropolitan District (AACMD). The Aurora City Council, The Board of County Commissioners of Adams County and the AACMD executed an intergovernmental agreement establishing ARTA. The Authority will oversee the budget and phasing plans for critical regional transportation infrastructure and finance regional transportation improvements needed to improve access across Aurora and Adams County including additional connections from Interstate 70 to DEN, new interchanges on E-470, as well as extensions of several critical arteries throughout the district.

See below, a list of the key documents and timelines regarding ARTA’s progress since establishment in February, 2018.

In October 2021 ARTA issued its second round of public financing in the amount of $65,000,000 to continue funding the planning, design and construction of its regional transportation system improvements. This second round of financing will allow ARTA to keep pace with the local and regional street improvements being designed and constructed by the Aurora Highlands project within the boundaries of ARTA. The Phasing Plan and Map below provide information on all of the necessary improvements.


Foundational Documents

©2022 Aerotropolis Regional Transportation Authority|